top of page


E-SWIP will soon be accepting nominations for the 2023 SWIP Distinguished Philosopher Award, formerly the Distinguished Woman Philosopher Award.  The purpose of the award is to recognize persons who (a) have made outstanding contributions to the field of philosophy, through scholarship, teaching or service, and (b) have significantly promoted gender justice in the field.  We encourage nomination of any philosopher who belongs to a gender group subject to discrimination or marginalization, including cis women, trans women, trans men, nonbinary individuals, and individuals with queer gender identities.

Announcing 2022 Winner: Kathryn Norlock

From the Trent University Website: Prof. Kathryn Norlock is the Kenneth Mark Drain Endowed Chair in Ethics at Trent University. She earned her Ph.D. in Philosophy from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2001. Prior to coming to Trent University, she held a professorship at St. Mary’s College of Maryland. She is the author of Forgiveness from a Feminist Perspective (Lexington Books, 2008), and the editor of collections on the topics of evil, oppression, and most recently, miscarriage and pregnancy loss. She is co-founder and co-editor of a new Open Access journal, Feminist Philosophy Quarterly, and writes and speaks widely on relational ethics, environmental ethics, and inclusive practices in education.


bottom of page